It was at the Royal Lake Club, Kuala Lumpur that a group of local squash enthusiasts got together and first discussed the formation of a National Squash Association. Thus, was born the Squash Racquets Association of Malaysia (SRAM). It was formed on 25 June 1972. The founding President was the late Dato’ Hisham Albakri who served with distinction from 1972 to 1977. The founding Honorary Secretary was Y.A.M. Tunku Tan Sri Imran Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Ja’afar.
Tunku Tan Sri Imran, who became the first National Champion in 1973 when he beat Dato’ Dr Hood Salleh in the finals, succeeded Dato’ Hisham Albakri as President of SRAM.
Tunku Imran’s successor was the late Tan Sri Alex Lee, under whose astute guidance we achieved the incredible double world junior titles: the World Junior Men’s title won by Ong Beng Hee in Princeton, USA in 1998; and the World Junior Women’s title won by Nicol David in Antwerp, Belgium in 1999.
In its 46-year history, eight different presidents have helmed SRAM. SRAM has evidently grown to become one of the leading national sports associations in Malaysia and produced several leading players in world squash, notably eight-time world champion Dato’ Nicol David, and former world top-10 players in Ong Beng Hee and Mohd Azlan Iskandar.
Low Wee Wern 2

2020 - Current

"Squash.... My Passion.... My Mission."

Gerard took over the reins in Sep 2020. Former National players Azlan Iskandar, Sharon Wee and Randy Chitty joined the team. Unfortunately, due to Covid 19, not many tournaments were held in Malaysia or abroad. However, the committee is aggressively pursuing the goal of making SRAM, a more visible and dynamic entity. Meanwhile the players are slowly coming back to full-on training and the next major goal is the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham and the Asian Games in Hangzhou in 2021.

Gerard Monteiro President
    Azlan ManCom

    Mr. Azlan Iskandar

    Deputy President

    "I want to be part of developing squash as squash was a huge part in developing me."

    Randy SRAM Management Comm

    Mr. Tevanaigam Randy Chitty

    Honorary Treasurer

    "Thrilled to be back involved in squash."

    Ms. Sharon Wee

    Vice President

    "If your roots are strong, nothing can stop you from blossoming."

    Mr. Mohd Nafzahizam bin Mohd Adnan

    Honorary Secretary

    "Make it worth your life."

    Ray ManCom

    Mr. Raymond Phoon

    Committee Member

    "Squash Matters!"

    Mr. Constantine Hon

    Committee Member

    "To let or not to let, that is the question"

    Amran ManCom

    Mr. Amran bin Chik

    Committee Member

    "Squash for all."

    Tunku ManCom

    YAM Tunku Dato’ Seri Zain Al-‘Abidin Ibni Tuanku Muhriz

    Committee Member

    "Let's squash Covid to play more squash."

    Andrew ManCom

    Mr. Andrew Muthu

    Committee Member

    "Squash buddy."

    Margaret ManCom

    Ms. Margaret Kechendai

    Committee Member

    "All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them."


    Mr. David Mok

    Committee Member

    "Together, let's elevate the Sport to greater heights!."


    Dato’ Hisham AlBakri


    Tunku Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Imran ibni Almahrum Tuanku Ja’afar al-Haj


    Tan Sri Alex Lee


    Dato’ Nik Din


    Dato’ Mokhzani Mahathir


    Datuk Abdullah Sani Karim


    Dato’ Syed Mustaffa


    Huang Ying How


    Nik Razeen Daud


    SRAM first started operating on a ‘voluntary basis’. Some of the key administrators who have selflessly contributed to the growth of SRAM in the early years include Prasad Pillai, Chris Foo, K.Sivanesen, Leslie Ponnampalam, Lt.Kol (R) Wong Ah Jit, and Peter Chee.

    Eventually, as SRAM grew to become one of the most prominent association in the country, the need for full-time paid administrators became evident. Today, SRAM has six full-time staff on its payroll.

    Johor State Logo
    Kedah logo
    Kelantan logo
    KL logo
    Negeri Sembilan logo
    Pahang logo
    Penang logo
    perak logo
    Perlis logo
    Putrajaya logo
    sabah logo
    sarawak logo
    Selangor logo
    terengganu logo

    State Affiliates

    13 states and 2 Federal Territories, Kuala Lumpur & Putrajaya are affiliated branches of SRAM. State affiliates play a huge role in the development of squash in the country, especially at the grassroot levels and serve as a launching pad for players to move up to the National Squash Centre, at Bukit Jalil.